On Saturday, July 13, one of two houses will be on tour for the first time this summer:
The Jean Hasbrouck House was built by Jacob Hasbrouck Sr. and was completed between 1721-1722. Jacob was the son of Jean Hasbrouck, one of the twelve Patentees of New Paltz. After Jean passed, Jacob used his considerable inheritance to build a home and a life for his family that reflected their wealth and prominence in the community. Both in its size and refinement, this house exceeded any other stone house in the area at the time. This tour will focus on the home's diverse inhabitants from 1722 – 1805 and will explore the themes of cultural identity and preservation, and the evolution of the early New Paltz community.
The Deyo House was owned continuously by the Deyos and their descendants for over 200 years, from its original construction in the early 1700s until 1915. The original house, built by Abraham Deyo, was a modest two-room stone farmhouse. This farmhouse was inherited by Abraham and Gertrude Deyo–Brodhead in 1889. Using inheritance money and profits from the local racetrack, which Abraham owned, the couple undertook a major renovation of the house in 1894 and transformed it into a grand modern Queen Anne Colonial Revival home. This tour will explore New Paltz in the Gilded Age through the eyes of the Deyo-Brodheads' impressive life and social standing, as well as the various events that led to their unexpected downfall in the early 20th century.
Follow along on Facebook to vote for your favorite!