The Jean Hasbrouck House
The Jean Hasbrouck House as it appears today was built by Jacob Hasbrouck, son of founder Jean Hasbrouck and his wife, Anna Deyo Hasbrouck. It is a dramatic structure built in a form that is unique in colonial American architecture. Dendrochronology (tree-ring dating) of the structural beams indicates that Jacob completed this house in 1722, very likely incorporating a small stone cellar, fireplace and chimney from his father's earlier home on the site. Josiah Hasbrouck, who built the grand federal house at Locust Lawn, was born in this house and operated a store from the front room.
Originally the hub of a small village farm, the Jean Hasbrouck House was the first structure purchased by the Huguenot Patriotic, Monumental and Historical Society (the original name of Historic Huguenot Street) and has been in operation as a museum since 1899. This house recently underwent a major restoration and reopened to the public in late 2008.