The Bevier-Elting House
The Bevier-Elting House is believed to be one of the oldest stone houses at Historic Huguenot Street. It is an excellent and unique example of rural colonial Dutch architecture. The house began as the one-room home of Louis and Marie Bevier. Louis' son Samuel inherited the house in 1720 and enlarged it in two phases (1720 and 1735), creating a cellar kitchen during the 1720 addition. This cellar, as with several of the houses at Historic Huguenot Street, was where slaves lived and where most of the heavier domestic chores and cooking occurred.
In the 1730s, the Eltings, a Dutch family, began renting the house from the Beviers. While the Eltings were not one of the twelve owners of the 40,000 acre New Paltz patent, they were present in the village from its earliest days. Jan Elting was a witness to the "Indian Deed," the 1677 agreement between the Huguenots and the Esopus Indians for the purchase of the land that was to become New Paltz. The Eltings may have begun renting this house when their neighboring stone house was damaged or destroyed. Archaeological evidence of this house has been found in recent years.
In 1760, Josiah Elting (son of Roelof Elting and Sara DuBois, daughter of patentee Abraham DuBois) purchased the house for use as a home and store by his son Roelof, and it remained in the Elting family until donated to Historic Huguenot Street in 1963. The house is currently interpreted as a mid to late 18th century family home.